The final and deciding round of voting has opened for this year’s Healthcare IT Champion of the Year award, with six nominees still in the running.

Healthcare IT Champion of the Year is a special category of the EHI Awards 2013 in association with CGI, decided by the readers of EHI.

This year, a record number of nominees meant that voting had to be split into two rounds.

With well over 2,000 votes already cast, the final six are:

Kemi Adenubi

GPSoC programme director, NHS Health and Social Care Information Centre

Rob Dyke

Director, Tactix4

Martin Egan

eHealth director, NHS Lothian

Ashfaq Gilkar

Applications systems manager, Department of ICT, West Middlesex University Hospital

Nilesh Patel

EPR business analyst, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Achim Schwenk

Consultant physician in HIV medicine, North Middlesex University Hospital

As in previous years, if you voted in the first round and your nominee has got through to the second round, you cannot vote again, because your vote has already been counted.

However, if you voted in round one and your nominee did not get through, then you can now vote again for one of the remaining six.

Linda Davidson, director of EHI said: “The competition for Healthcare IT Champion of the Year has been more determined than ever.

“The six nominees still in the running come from a wide variety of backgrounds, but have all attracted significant support. Now it’s up to EHI readers to decide who should emerge as the winner.”

The second round of voting will close at 4pm on Friday, 26 July, and the winner will be announced at the annual black-tie awards dinner in central London on 10 October.