An astounding 20 nominations have been put forward for this year’s Healthcare IT Champion of the Year, the special category of the EHI Awards decided by you.

Voting is now open for the first round and EHI readers will have two weeks to cast their vote. This will reduce the number of nominees to six. 

A second round of voting will take place later in the year to determine the winner, who will be announced at the black tie ceremony for the EHI Awards 2014 in association with CGI in October. 

Linda Davidson, director of EHI said: "The line-up for this year’s Healthcare IT Champion of the Year is very impressive and we hope all EHI readers will take a minute to cast their vote and help us to celebrate the excellent work of our nominees.

“Please spread the word too, and ensure that colleagues are aware of the opportunity to celebrate the commitment and achievements of some outstanding individuals.”

The prestigious Healthcare IT Champion of the Year is sponsored by System C and recognises the work of individuals who promote healthcare IT in different ways – from individual practice to work in the NHS and professional organisations.

This year’s nominees are:

Mark England, director of re-engineering, Luton and Dunstable University Hospital NHS Trust

Paul Gauld, head of IT, Herts Urgent Care

Dr David Jehring, chief executive, Black Pear Software

Dr Amir Hannan, GP,  Haugthon Thorney Medical Centre

Michael Seres, patient digital champion, blogger and social media innovator, Michael Seres Consulting

David Walliker, chief information officer, Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

Darren Holmes, head of ICT, St Barnabas Lincolnshire Hospice

Donald Kennedy, managing director, Patientrack

Daniel McGowan, lead developer WebV project, Northern Lincolnshire and Goole NHS Foundation Trust

Rowan Prichard-Jones, consultant plastic surgeon and chief clinical information officer, St Helens and Knowlsey Health Informatics Service

Colin Sweeney, director of IT, King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Stephen Casbolt, transformation projects manager for outpatients, University Hospital of North Staffordshire NHS Trust

Kerrie Darvill, deputy director of IM&T, Greater Manchester West NHS Trust

Claire Dow, consultant geriatrician, Barts Health NHS Trust

Professor David Patterson, consultant cardiologist, Whittington HealthProfessor of cardiovascular medicine, University College London, and chief executive, Helicon Health

Justin Griffiths, head of IT, the Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust

Ewan Davis, director, HANDI Health

Steve Jessop, chief nursing information officer, Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Andy Kinnear, chair of the Connecting Care Board and director of business intelligence and informatics, South West Commissioning Support Unit

Dr Rick Jones, formerly senior lecturer at Leeds University, and chair in Chemical Pathology and Health Informatics and specialist advisor NHS England National Pathology Programme.

Sadly Dr Jones passed away after his name was put forward. We have maintained his nomination for a posthumous award at the request of his friends and colleagues.

More information about the nominees and the voting process can be found on the website of the EHI Awards 2014 in association with CGI.

Last year’s winner was Kemi Adenubi, GPSoC programme director at the HSCIC.

Previous winners include Neil Darvill, the director of the St Helens and Knowsley Health Informatics Service, James Norman, (now former) IT director at Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust, and  Mike Bainbridge, the clinical architect of NHS Connecting for Health.