Voting is now open for Healthcare IT Champion of the Year; a special category of the E-Health Insider Awards 2010 in association with BT that is decided by you, the reader.

We have received so many nominations that voting has been split into two rounds. Round one includes all 24 nominees; round two will include the top six nominees from round one. So if you want to see your champion in the top six get voting now!

The first round nominees are:

Jack Barker, respiratory medicine consultant and clinical director for IT, King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Jill Beech, pathology quality and systems manager, Milton Keynes Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Martin Bell, director of assurance and IT, North Bristol NHS Trust

Marianne Berry, primary care IM&T projects implementation and training manager, NHS Milton Keynes

David Brown, head of ICT, Rotherham NHS Trust

Alan Chapman, director of business and system development, States of Guernsey Health and Social Care Team

Dr Zafar Chaudry, chief information officer, Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust and Alder Hey Children’s NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Christine Dearnley, senior lecturer/university learning and teaching fellow, University of Bradford

Mark England, head of information technology, Luton and Dunstable NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Roy Harper, consultant physician and endocrinologist, The Ulster Hospital, South Eastern Trust, Belfast

David Isaacson, community manager, doc2doc

Dr Tim Kenny, patient editor, Patient UK

David Laidler, ICT service desk oo-ordinator, NHS South of Tyne and Wear Primary Care Trust

David Lee, chief technician, clinical equipment services department, North Bristol NHS Trust

Dr William Lumb, senior partner, Sedbergh Health Centre, and GP lead, Westmorland Primary Care Collaborative, and clinical informatics lead, NHS Cumbria

George Macginnis, PA consulting

Peter Marks, EPS clinical champion for Greater Manchester

Mary Moulden, John Radcliff Women’s Centre

Dr Lloyd McCann, clinical fellow, performance improvement, Oxford Radcliffe Hospitals

Geoff Monk, account manager – healthcare, Dakota Integrated Systems

Robin Rice, orthopaedic consultant and chair of the Health Informatics Programme Board, Aneurin Bevan Health Board, Wales

John Spence, informatics director, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

John Thornbury, ICT director, Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust.

Short citations for each candidate are published on the awards’ dedicated website. Second round voting will be held in September.

The winner will be unveiled at this year’s awards dinner, which will be at the Grand Connaught Rooms in Covent Garden, London, on 6 October.

Previous winners of the awards have included Mike Bainbridge, clinical architect of NHS Connecting for Health, Sue Rushbrook, head of systems and network services at York Hospitals NHS Trust, and Andy Inniss, a control training supervisor in South Western Ambulance NHS Trust’s control room in Exeter.

The awards will be presented on Wednesday, 6 October in the Grand Hall at the Grand Connaught Rooms, Covent Garden, London. For more information or to reserve a table, please visit the awards website.

To find out more about the previous winners of the awards, visit our case studies showcase. Last year’s Healthcare ICT Champion of the Year, Andy Inniss, is now an EHI video diarist.