Nine clinical commissioning groups in Surrey and Sussex have chosen new commissioning support providers following the closure of their local support unit.

The Surrey and Sussex CSU announced it will close down in April after coming to the conclusion that it is, "not sustainable as an independent CSU”.

NHS Kent and Medway Commissioning Support Unit will take on support for High Weald Lewes Havens CCG, Hastings and Rother CCG and Eastbourne, Hailsham and Seaford CCG.

NHS South Commissioning Support Unit will provide services for Crawley CCG, Horsham and Mid-Sussex CCG, Brighton and Hove CCG and Coastal West Sussex CCG.

Meanwhile, East Surrey CCG and Guildford and Waverley CCG have chosen to use NHS South London Commissioning Support Unit.

The Department of Health initially estimated that between 25 and 35 CSUs could be set up to provide support services to CCGs, however there are now just 19.

The units provide IT support and business intelligence services to commissioners.