Judges for the BT e-Health Insider Awards ’07 have been appointed resulting in a line-up that includes distinguished IT professionals and clinicians with an interest in health informatics.

Entry for the awards  is open now and the six categories offer opportunities for everyone involved in healthcare IT from the frontline to the back office to gain recognition for excellent work.

The five judges who will decide on the winners and runners up are:

Dr Glyn Hayes – chair

Dr Glyn Hayes is a vice-president of the British Computer Society and a medical practitioner who was a GP in Worcester City for 25 years. He has been involved with health informatics since the late 70s when he designed one of first consulting room GP computer systems. Glyn is the chair of the Health Informatics Forum Strategic Panel. He is a founder member of the Primary Health Care Specialist Group of the BCS, was its chair from 1985 to 1990 and is currently its president. He is also president of the UK Council for Health Informatics Professionals.

Brendan Major

Brendan Major joined BT in February 2007 as client engagement director for BT Health London. Working closely with NHS Connecting for Health, Brendan is responsible for ensuring that BT and trusts are both properly engaged with the programme of deployments that are taking place across the capital. Brendan joined BT from Barts and the London NHS Trust where, for the past four years, he was director of ICT running an IT hub serving seven NHS trusts. Whilst at Barts he was also the director of infrastructure for the National Programme for IT in London. Brendan joined the NHS after 10 years as a lecturer and IT director for a major charity.

Linda Davidson

Linda is a director and co-founder of E-Health Media Ltd, publishers of E-Health Insider and EHI Primary Care. A healthcare journalist, and editor, Linda is a former editor of Nursing Times (1988-92) and editorial director of Macmillan Magazines health division (now Emap), publishers of Nursing Times and the Health Service Journal.

Sheila Teasdale

Sheila Teasdale is the strategic director of PRIMIS+, based in the University of Nottingham, having spent the previous ten years piloting training methods and data extraction software with the CHDGP Project, and directing its national rollout as PRIMIS (Primary Care Information Services). Sheila is also editor of Informatics in Primary Care, and an editorial adviser to the British Medical Journal. She is a fellow of the British Computer Society, and a board member of the NHS Faculty of Health Informatics and the Data Accreditation Board

Professor Dame June Clark

June Clark is a nurse and health visitor and has worked as a practitioner, manager, teacher, and researcher for most of her career. In 1990 she left the NHS and moved to higher education where, as professor of nursing, she established the School of Health Care Studies at Middlesex University. In 1997 she “went home” to Wales as professor of community nursing at the University of Wales Swansea, where, following her retirement in 2003 she remains Professor Emeritus.

June’s recent research interests have focused on the development of standardised languages, classification systems, and information systems to describe nursing practice. She has been involved in health informatics since 1990 when she was one of the original consultants to the International Council of Nurses’ project to develop the International Classification for Nursing Practice. At the University of Wales Swansea she worked on the development of the Omaha System as a means of identifying and measuring the outcomes of health visiting practice. She was a member of the Welsh Assembly Government’s Task Group that developed the IM&T strategy for the NHS in Wales. June currently chairs the IN Group (the Royal College of Nursing’s specialist group concerned with health informatics). She has held many leadership roles in the RCN, including serving as president 1990-1994. In 1982 she was elected a fellow of the Royal College of Nursing and appointed a DBE in 1995.

There are five categories for healthcare organisations to enter:

  • Primary Care ICT Team of the Year
  • Acute Care ICT Team of the Year
  • Community and Mental Health Care ICT Team of the Year , sponsored by McKesson
  • Excellence in Health Information Management Award, sponsored by Quicksilva
  • Healthcare Business ICT Support Team of the Year, sponsored by Olympus

In addition there is a sixth category for Healthcare ICT Champion of the Year, sponsored by Microsoft – an opportunity to recognise the achievements of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in the past year.

BT is the principal sponsor for the awards and Emis is sponsoring the awards reception.

Full details for entrants and sponsors can be found on the awards website.


BT e-Health Awards